Those readers familiar with this blog will by now be aware that Georgia enforces a "per se" blood alcohol content limit of .08 for adults and a zero tolerance limit of .02 for under-age drivers. Most people are aware of these limits and observe them.
But some people break the law. And for such people the following question arises: under the State of Georgia DUI laws what are the various DUI penalties on the books?
Well, a little look at the laws is in order.
Georgia's law related to first, second, and subsequent DUI convictions is Georgia Code 40-6-391. This section sets out the various Georgia DUI penalties.
They are as follows:
1st DUI Conviction:
A person convicted for drunk driving for the first time may: owe a fine between $300 - $1000; be imprisoned for between ten days and twelve months; owe 40+ hours of community service; have to complete a DUI risk reduction program approved by the Department of Driver Services; and face probation up to 12 months.
2nd DUI Conviction:
For a second conviction within five years of an earlier DUI conviction a person may face: a fine between $600 - $1000; imprisonment of not less than 90 days nor more than 12 months; not less than 30 days of community service; a DUI risk reduction program; undergo a clinical evaluation; probation up to 12 months.
Third or Subsequent DUI Conviction:
For a third conviction within five years of an earlier DUI conviction a person may face: a fine between $1000 - $5000; mandatory imprisonment of not less than 120 days nor more than a year; no less than 30 days of community service; completion of a risk reduction program; undergo a clinical evaluation; probation up to 12 months.
Just a quick reading of the DUI penalties in Georgia shows that a DUI is no joke. And those facing legal action would be well advised to contact an attorney.