The Atlanta DUI News Blog

A Quick Guide to Georgia's DUI Laws

How do DUI laws work in Georgia?

DUI sentencing and penalties are based on the level of a DUI infraction. The higher up you go on the DUI chain, the stiffer your punishment gets.

Here's a primer on Georgia DUI laws and the levels of DUI offenses in Georgia.

First Timers

If your DUI offense is your first one, then you will likely have to complete DUI school. You will also be fined between $300 and $1,000.

In some cases, you may also get jail time of 10 days. If you're one of the unlucky ones, you could face jail time of up to 12 months. This could depend on whether there were aggravating circumstances surrounding your DUI. For example, if you were speeding more than 30 mph over the posted limit, you could face more jail time. The same goes for refusing a BAC test.

And if your DUI resulted in a death, then you could be looking at much more serious time and possibly additional offenses.

In any event, the simplest DUI infraction will get you 12 months of probation.

Second Timers

If you get a second DUI within a 10-year period, then your driver's license will be suspended for two years, unless you enroll in alcohol treatment. In the case of the latter, your license will be suspended for one year.

You will also have to pay a fine of anywhere between $600 and $1,000. There's also jail time of anywhere from 90 days to 12 months.

And, let's not forget DUI school and community service.

Finally, those who are second-time offenders must have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicles for six months.

Third Timers

Those with a third DUI offense within a 10-year window are looking at a license suspension of five years -- unless they complete treatment, in which case it's two years.

The fine is also much steeper here: anywhere from $1,000 on the low end to $5,000 on the high end.

There's also possible jail time of not less than 120 days.

Fourth Timers

At this level, we're looking at felony DUI. It calls for five years of license suspension (or two years, if the offender completes treatment). The fine is the same as the fine for third timers.

Where this DUI differs is with potential incarceration. It can go as long as five years.

If you've been arrested for DUI, talk to a lawyer. It might be worth it to have your offense brought down to a lower one. A good DUI attorney will be able to make that happen.

Related Resources: