The Atlanta DUI News Blog

How Much Can a DUI Cost in Atlanta?

The next time you reach for a drink, think about how much a DUI conviction could cost you.

A recent a study conducted by the Automobile Club of Southern California put a huge price tag on basic first-time DUIs in that state. According to the study, a DUI can cost up to $15,649 in California, reports the Los Angeles Times.

And those numbers don't even take into account other associated DUI costs.

How can a DUI can cost you? Let us count the ways:

  1. State and local fines. In Georgia, a first-time DUI offense can result in a state fine from $300 to $1,000. There's also a license reinstatement fee of $210.

  2. The cost of restitution. Restitution is the legal word for paying the victim of a DUI crash to make him whole. This can come from the DUI court imposing restitution, or it can come from a civil lawsuit.

  3. Insurance. Insurance premiums can go up as a result of your DUI. If you're sued for property damage as the result of the DUI, expect higher premiums as well.

  4. Ignition interlock: Installing an ignition interlock device in a vehicle can be costly. The cost of an ignition interlock device takes into account the installation as well as the monthly rental fee.

  5. Lost wages from jail time. If you end up in jail as the result of a DUI, you might find yourself unable to attend your job for a few days, or longer.

  6. Legal fees. You'll probably need to pay a lawyer to defend your case. The cost of retaining an attorney isn't minor. Depending on the complexity of the case, the costs of defending a DUI can go well into the thousands.

  7. Bail. The cost of posting bail can be pricey. Bail bonds might be easy to obtain, but they don't come without hidden fees and costs.

Related Resources: