The Atlanta DUI News Blog

3 Questions About Alternative Sentences for your DUI Attorney

After taking a look at Georgia's DUI laws, you may have wondered about alternative sentences.

The availability of alternative sentences will hinge on the specific facts of a DUI case, so your best bet is to consult a DUI attorney for an evaluation of your particular case.

Here are three questions about alternative sentences to ask your DUI attorney:

  1. Can I avoid going to jail? If your BAC was below 0.08, your entire sentence may be stayed. But if you had a BAC at or above 0.08, Georgia law carries a minimum jail sentence of at least one day -- even a first-time DUI offense. That being said, there are a variety of ways to reduce the amount of jail time, including plea bargains and probation, so you'll want to ask your attorney about those possibilities.
  2. Will I be eligible for probation? The length of a typical first offense DUI sentence is 12 months: 24 hours of that sentence is typically spent in jail (the minimum amount of jail time allowed by law) followed by 11 months and 29 days of probation. Probation can help you avoid spending more time in jail, but the length of probation will vary based on several factors, including: your prior criminal record, the circumstances surrounding your arrest, and the amount of jail time you already served.
  3. What is a DUI/drug court? Drug and alcohol programs allow an offender to obtain treatment in lieu of jail time. For example, Troup County has a unique program designed to treat offenders' substance abuse problems. The program is not available in every county, so you'll want to ask your DUI lawyer about your county.

If you're facing a DUI, your Georgia DUI attorney can provide you with additional guidance on alternative sentences that might be available in your specific case.

Related Resources: